Search Bar of Awesome

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Crisis of Conscience


I don't like Apple products, for various reasons. I'm not trying to alienate people who do, I don't judge, it's just my choice.
Anyway, one thing I don't like is the Quality Control, especially in the App store for the iPhone. But, just today I was thinking about how Nintendo should bring back the Nintendo seal of quality, and start screening the games again. Then I realized how these two view conflicted. I am also I big supporter of GPL and Freeware, but I also want Imagine Babyz to get off the market.

My question is: Where Am I wrong?

Sunday, June 13, 2010

E3!

E3 is June 15, two days away. I might post more about E3 later, but now I'd like to share my E3 predictions.
First off, Microsoft. They chose to reserve two days for their presentation, which start before E3 starts, just like last year. It's been half a decade since a new console was released, I hope that someone will announce one this year, and Microsoft has the most to gain. I highly doubt that they will, though.
Natal (I guess it's Kinect now) will just show the same things the Wii did. Don't get me wrong, I like the Wii, but it won't be new, and without buttons, there will be no good hardcore games. Just boxing, racing, and casual games. Shooters will be on rails, and probably won't feel "right." I think it would be more promising for the PC. It would be pretty sweet to use your hands to use your Computer instead of your mouse.

Nintendo had better find something amazing to do with the Wii Vitality Sensor. I can't think of anything to do with it (Actually, I have a few ideas, but I'm not a game dev... Yet.) It will make everyone watching angry if they don't find something to do with it.
Nintendo will announce Legend of Zelda Wii! I love Zelda and everyone will be excited about it. It could be First Person, and Shigeru Miyamoto like that format, so it'll still be good.
And, of course, Nintendo will have some amazing surprise to blow us away with. I'm hoping for Star Fox Wii.

Sony most likely won't announce a new console. They also confirmed the PS4 viral video is fake. It does look good though. I'm sure they'll have some spectacular games, as will everyone else, but they will have to go after everyone else, and if Natal doesn't put journalists in a bad mood, The Wii Vitality Sensor will. Also, all their games will be compared to MS and Nintendo's games, which could look cooler by comparison.
Honestly, for the Sony presentation to shine, they need something amazing. They could make The Move do something else besides jump on a bandwagon. That would be amazing in my mind. Or, they could say the PSP Go is the second coming of Jesus. (Which I wouldn't put past them.)

That's my analysis. Enjoy E3 2010!